collapse

Author Topic: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!  (Read 2108 times)

Offline DoctorOHM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« on: January 01, 2013, 03:55:39 PM »
On settings for battery, an app called " mobile app" with a blue phone next to it popped up add using energy. I can't find it now. I might think it was a fluke but Smart Quick Settings tells me I have a switch that says " mobile data connected". I can turn it off, but if I go back, moments later it's back on.


I might consider it coincidence, maybe it's always been there, but I didn't see stuff like that until my battery drain stated to get bad.

I've got a 16 GB nexus, it doesn't have any mobile data!



Also, airplane mode/NFC off doesn't seem to do much about the battery drain, that's not it.



So anyway, what's this mobile app/immortal mobile data stuff if I don't have a data model nexus?



Offline Tiny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Popularity: 11
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 09:11:07 PM »
I haven't heard of any apps fitting this description.  I searched the Google Play Store with negative results.

I would go to settings/apps and disable the app if it is listed.

Have you installed apps from anywhere besides the Google Play Store or the Amazon App Store?
I used to be crazy until I found out that insane pays more.

Where am I?  What am I doing in this handbasket?

Offline JayJ

  • Android Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Popularity: 73
  • Long term Android fan, long term A**le hater!!
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 04:59:00 PM »
I wouldn't freeze them, I've never seen them before and certainly not in my Battery stats but they are surely meant to be there...




Sent from my 32GB Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
« Last Edit: January 02, 2013, 05:10:36 PM by JayJ »
Nexus 5 stock rooted 4.4 Franco kernel

Nexus 7 FHD stock rooted 4.4

Offline DoctorOHM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 06:55:47 PM »
Tiny: no, I've used nothing but play/amazon. And the mobile app isn't NORMALLY listed. It popped up, and then it was gone. In fact, it looked like what JayJ posted, especially the pic.


On a related note, I use an HTC one v for a sort of media/mp3 player(it has android). The battery drainage was crazy in a way it wasn't before. Most of the used energy was " cellular standby", which elsewhere referenced a cell " radio". After turning on airplane mode it's fine, and the mobile data switch days it's off because airplane mode turned off the radio signal. Which is interesting, because I've never bought a phone plan for it, so the htc doesn't have " mobile data". So then when I see similar crap and power drain occur on my nexus 7 16gb, and smart quick settings insists the nexus has mobile data permanently on, I've got to wonder..

Offline Tiny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Popularity: 11
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2013, 09:34:18 PM »
I wouldn't freeze them, I've never seen them before and certainly not in my Battery stats but they are surely meant to be there...


Sent from my 32GB Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

I don't have them listed on my N7.  Looks like they might have something to do with cellular network data.
I used to be crazy until I found out that insane pays more.

Where am I?  What am I doing in this handbasket?

Offline JayJ

  • Android Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Popularity: 73
  • Long term Android fan, long term A**le hater!!
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 03:01:29 AM »
I'm using CM10.1 on my Nexus 7 (grouper) so maybe that's why, having said that there's a separate build for the 3G Nexus 7 (tilapia)...

OP, don't mean to be rude but are you sure you don't have a 3G Nexus 7?

Sent from my AOKP Nexus 4
« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 03:11:15 AM by JayJ »
Nexus 5 stock rooted 4.4 Franco kernel

Nexus 7 FHD stock rooted 4.4

Offline matt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 936
  • Popularity: 28
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 04:15:33 AM »
It's probably there to use a 3g usb dongle. On my older wifi only tablets, there's a phone.apk in /system that I renamed *.old, but it didn't change the battery drain.

I don't really trust the battery statistics. I get around 6 hours normal use, 2.5 -3 streaming movies constantly. That's down to 15% when I recharge. Discharging fully may help calibrate the stats.

Lowering brightness, and removing widgets can help.

There are some 3g/4g isps that provide usb dongles, if someone wants to try it.

wallydog

  • Guest
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2013, 01:20:38 PM »
I have them on both the N7 and the Asus TF300 they are probably stock Android Apps . You may have an app that was trying to access one of them or adware from an app that wanted to take control of them not knowing that your device is not a phone . I would scrutinize your app collection for a suspect.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk 2


Offline joannasaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2013, 07:22:00 AM »
They are actually listed under the "all" category in the Apps from Settings for me, but they aren't running.
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Google Nexus 7 32 GB

Offline DoctorOHM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2013, 08:15:24 PM »
JohnJ: very sure... I didn't think 16gb versions had anything but Wi-Fi. Is there a way for me to check just in case?

Offline JayJ

  • Android Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Popularity: 73
  • Long term Android fan, long term A**le hater!!
    • View Profile
Re: mobile app/mobile data on? I don't have any?!
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2013, 04:36:53 AM »
Who's JohnJ? ;)

If it's a 16GB then your right, it's not 3G...

Sent from my Nexus 4

Nexus 5 stock rooted 4.4 Franco kernel

Nexus 7 FHD stock rooted 4.4

Offline Tiny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Popularity: 11
    • View Profile
I used to be crazy until I found out that insane pays more.

Where am I?  What am I doing in this handbasket?

 


* Top Boards

* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Top Posters

bjs229 bjs229
2682 Posts
JayJ JayJ
2100 Posts
S.Prime S.Prime
2017 Posts
Babyfacemagee Babyfacemagee
1261 Posts
matt matt
936 Posts
birdastrompgman birdastrompgman
840 Posts
loociddreemr loociddreemr
708 Posts