collapse

Author Topic: Need to root?  (Read 1994 times)

Offline engineer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Need to root?
« on: August 09, 2013, 04:56:48 PM »
While I'm waiting for my nexus 7.2 to arrive, I thought to ask about rooting. I am aware of the various toolkits, etc. for rooting, but I read 'somewhere' that because of the changes in 4.3 rooting may not be as necessary. Did I misread? Won't it still be necessary to root 4.3 to fully use apps like titanium, Stickmount, Tasker, etc.?



Offline S.Prime

  • PM if You have a Forum Issue
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2017
  • Popularity: 80
  • Galaxy S3-TPT-HTC Flyer-Nexus 7 & 10-Rooted 100%
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2013, 01:59:18 AM »
Yes you will still need to root, to take advantage of those apps.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

IT Service Professional - I just want a device to be productive.

Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2013, 12:05:01 AM »
Finally rooted and setup.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4


Offline engineer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2013, 07:10:57 AM »
What did you use and how did you do it?

Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2013, 07:29:26 AM »
I used Wugfresh.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4


Offline engineer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2013, 09:21:23 AM »
Thank you. I think the problem I am having may have to do with the windows 7 64 bit computer I am using. What is the os of the computer you are using?

Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2013, 05:06:32 PM »
Sorry I missed this engineer. It looks as though you got rolling with Wugs? Good deal. I used a Windows 8 laptop. My XP box with Wugs was giving me problems this time around.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4


Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Need to root?
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2013, 12:10:17 AM »
I used Wugfresh.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
Yes.  I did.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4


 


* Top Boards

* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Top Posters

bjs229 bjs229
2682 Posts
JayJ JayJ
2100 Posts
S.Prime S.Prime
2017 Posts
Babyfacemagee Babyfacemagee
1260 Posts
matt matt
936 Posts
birdastrompgman birdastrompgman
840 Posts
loociddreemr loociddreemr
708 Posts