collapse

Author Topic: Adding a Nexus 7 to a Domain  (Read 2688 times)

Offline gwc0bb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Adding a Nexus 7 to a Domain
« on: August 29, 2012, 02:11:35 AM »
I'm looking to add a Nexus 7 to the domain at my workplace.

Can anyone tell me if this is a possibility and if so, how to do it?
Also, i'm looking to be able to access network drives from the Nexus if possible, any apps?

Thanks



Offline Tiny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Popularity: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Adding a Nexus 7 to a Domain
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 10:31:38 AM »
Add your N7 just like you add any other computer.  If you've set up wireless, you're already on your network.  I use the ES File Explorer to access all of the other computers on my network.  To make things easier, I've assigned static IP addresses to all of the devices on my network.
I used to be crazy until I found out that insane pays more.

Where am I?  What am I doing in this handbasket?

Offline gwc0bb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding a Nexus 7 to a Domain
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 09:07:44 AM »
Add your N7 just like you add any other computer.  If you've set up wireless, you're already on your network.  I use the ES File Explorer to access all of the other computers on my network.  To make things easier, I've assigned static IP addresses to all of the devices on my network.

Thanks.
Where on the Nexus can i find the 'computer name' as such, which would be added to the computers list in Active Directory to add to the domain?

Offline S.Prime

  • PM if You have a Forum Issue
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2017
  • Popularity: 80
  • Galaxy S3-TPT-HTC Flyer-Nexus 7 & 10-Rooted 100%
    • View Profile
Re: Adding a Nexus 7 to a Domain
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 09:29:29 AM »
Android does not have the protocols to join a MS Domain, in the traditional sense, although you may be able to access network shares through file explorer apps like es explorer, but that will depend on the access permissions for those shares. I can access domains using RDP and have used it to manage clients' servers from my tablet using a remote desktop app.  As a network administrator, I would never allow an open platform like Android to have direct access to my network.
IT Service Professional - I just want a device to be productive.

 


* Top Boards

* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Top Posters

bjs229 bjs229
2682 Posts
JayJ JayJ
2100 Posts
S.Prime S.Prime
2017 Posts
Babyfacemagee Babyfacemagee
1260 Posts
matt matt
936 Posts
birdastrompgman birdastrompgman
840 Posts
loociddreemr loociddreemr
708 Posts