collapse

Author Topic: Screen capture?  (Read 2750 times)

Offline ecky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Screen capture?
« on: November 05, 2012, 10:03:38 AM »
I have a Galaxy 10.1 and it was easy to capture the screen by just pressing a touch button at the bottom of the screen, that seems to be missing on Nexus 7, and i have tried the cnet video method i.e. Holding the volume and off button, but this does not work.

Is there a simple answer to this on Nexus 7 (32gb). ?

I have managed to save photos on web pages, but not the page itself. ...

Ecky



Offline Mr Jolly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2012, 10:27:41 AM »
Press the Power button and the Volume Down and hold until you see the screen flash.
Electronic engineer with a love of dance music who fell into computers and stayed there.

Offline ecky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2012, 10:33:23 AM »
Press the Power button and the Volume Down and hold until you see the screen flash.

Thanks for that suggestion, it shows that in the cnet video on youtube, but it does not work on my Nexus 7 (32gb) ....

Ecky

I just tried a number of times, managed to capture one screen, don't quite no how, but its very messy, and unreliable, a single button would be easier, as with my Samsung 10.1; its extremely useful for zooming in and capturing detail off a screen, perhaps it will appear in an update of Jellybean.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2012, 10:54:10 AM by ecky »

Offline birdastrompgman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
  • Popularity: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2012, 10:59:48 AM »
You just need to press both buttons at the same time.
Bird has seen >650 North American bird species
Rooted Nexus 7
49.5 mpg avg for 53k miles in non-hybrid Scion xB
Retired 9 yrs, and loving it

Offline ecky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2012, 11:15:15 AM »
You just need to press both buttons at the same time.

Thanks. ?..we are trying hard here, but its very difficult to press them together, eureka. We seem to have succeeded twice, actually getting the sound when we succeed, not easy at all, think it needs improving in future updates, anyone else having the same issue with this. ?

Thanks for your replies. ... Ecky

Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2012, 11:24:05 AM »
Press and hold them together at the same time. (simultaneously) It isn't as hard as you are making it out to be.
Another button would cost more money.
There might be an app out there to do it for you though.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2012, 11:45:40 AM by bjs229 »

Offline ecky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2012, 11:56:28 AM »
Press and hold them together at the same time. (simultaneously) It isn't as hard as you are making it out to be.
Another button would cost more money.
There might be an app out there to do it for you though.

As I keep the Nexus in a leather case, the buttons are not easy to find and press, the button on the galaxy 10.1 is a soft one at the bottom alongside home etc. And would be easy and cheap to add I am sure.

Ecky

Offline CBers

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 517
  • Popularity: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2012, 01:16:00 PM »
You have to press an hold the buttons together for about a second.

Offline bjs229

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2682
  • Popularity: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2012, 01:18:15 PM »
I know what you mean about the buttons being difficult to access when in some cases. Mine has elastic bands on the corners and I have to keep the one by the buttons un strapped or it will block or even press them. As far as a button designated for a screen shot I have different needs. I think a button to take a picture period would be more important.

Offline S.Prime

  • PM if You have a Forum Issue
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2017
  • Popularity: 80
  • Galaxy S3-TPT-HTC Flyer-Nexus 7 & 10-Rooted 100%
    • View Profile
Re: Screen capture?
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2012, 02:54:05 PM »
If you are rooted ScreenShotER from Google Play is a simple alternative.
IT Service Professional - I just want a device to be productive.

 


Ledger Wallet protects your bitcoins

* Top Boards

* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Top Posters

bjs229 bjs229
2682 Posts
JayJ JayJ
2100 Posts
S.Prime S.Prime
2017 Posts
Babyfacemagee Babyfacemagee
1261 Posts
matt matt
936 Posts
birdastrompgman birdastrompgman
840 Posts
loociddreemr loociddreemr
708 Posts