collapse

Author Topic: Question on Android Device Manager  (Read 1248 times)

Offline martyh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Popularity: 3
    • View Profile
Question on Android Device Manager
« on: September 25, 2013, 05:40:45 PM »
Hello, all -

I've activated Android Device Manager on my N7; I've confirmed that GPS, etc. is "on."

When I go to the Android Device Manager website on my PC to locate my N7, after some searching, I get a msg the "location unavailable" -- which is weird, as the N7 is sitting on the desk right next to the PC. Both, in fact, are connected to the same WiFi network.

Is there some other N7 setting I'm missing that would enable this location process?

Thanks.
- martyh



Offline JayJ

  • Android Jedi
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Popularity: 73
  • Long term Android fan, long term A**le hater!!
    • View Profile
Re: Question on Android Device Manager
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 06:01:57 PM »
There have been some teething issues with ADM. Here's a workaround to hopefully resolve your problem.

1. Open Google Settings (Green icon with a G and cog in your app draw).

2.  Tap Android Device Manager.

3. Uncheck Allow remote lock and factory reset.

4. Go to your devices main settings menu, tap Apps> All> Google Play Services.

5. Tap Clear Data.

6. Go back to Google Settings and check Allow remote lock and factory reset.

7. Restart your device.

Allow 5 minutes before checking for device location or refreshing ADM.

Sent using The Force
« Last Edit: September 26, 2013, 06:08:58 PM by JayJ »
Nexus 5 stock rooted 4.4 Franco kernel

Nexus 7 FHD stock rooted 4.4

Offline martyh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Popularity: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Question on Android Device Manager
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 10:27:51 PM »
Thanks, JayJ, appreciate your help, as always.

I followed all the steps as you listed them. ADM still was unable to locate my N7 ("Location unavailable") -- and yet I was able to send a ring command (though it seemed to take a lot longer than 5 min.) as well as a screen lock command.

So I guess it sorta works.

Cheers,
- martyh


 


Ledger Wallet protects your bitcoins

* Top Boards

* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Top Posters

bjs229 bjs229
2682 Posts
JayJ JayJ
2100 Posts
S.Prime S.Prime
2017 Posts
Babyfacemagee Babyfacemagee
1261 Posts
matt matt
936 Posts
birdastrompgman birdastrompgman
840 Posts
loociddreemr loociddreemr
708 Posts